Dear Ignorant People: A Response to Dear Fat People

Dear Ignorant People,

You make it out to seem as if fat people aren’t human. As if they’re just an object solely there for the purpose of your amusement and ridicule. By showing no tact or regard for other people’s feelings, it shows that you don’t acknowledge their emotional response.

You try to portray yourself as their savior for telling them what they’ve already probably heard before and are probably self-aware of.

And worse than that, you’re trying to justify your fat shaming by saying that you’re concerned about their wellbeing and you love them. Your statements are very contradictory.

There’s a fine line between being honest and being disrespectful-a line you have blatantly crossed. This is not constructive criticism, this is just cruelty.

And the actual intent of your video is ambiguous to me.

Are you trying to promote physical health and open up a discussion about the obesity epidemic in America? If so, then disabling the comments and likes on your video is definitely not the best way.

It seems almost as if you’re just trying to use this for the attention; which is shallow, inconsiderate, and vain.

This isn’t just an issue about fat people, but all body image insecurities. When is it ever alright for someone to think that another person’s issue is their concern to point out in such a brazenly rude manner? It horrifies me that they should feel justified to say things like:

“Fat shaming is not a thing. Fat people made that up.”

“No, that means you’re too fat. You should stop eating.”

“Fat shaming. Who came up with that? That’s f- brilliant. Yes, shame people who have bad habits until they f- stop. Fat shaming. If we offend you so much that you lose weight, I’m okay with that.”

“And I’m not saying all this to be an a-hole, I’m saying it because your friends should be saying it to you.”

Yes, because you were the catalyst, the first person to tell them these things. And, you are the reason for them to want to be more like you. Yes, because losing weight is a thought that never crossed the minds of fat people. Or, that without this video, they never would feel the inclination to conform to societal body ideals. You objectify fat people in a way that makes it seem like you think they do not have the mental capacity to make decisions for themselves.

Comedy shouldn’t be about making jokes at another person’s expense. You’re clearly sending the message that you feel as if you are superior to fat people, which is just so ignorant. Nobody should ever feel inferior or superior to anyone. It’s the root of so many of our cultural, societal, and personal issues and defines what we perceive as shortcomings and flaws.

By making this video, it must’ve been obvious what the outcome would be. And not only that, but you’re prompting this type of behavior, trying to make it seem as if you’re in the right. Why does someone else’s personal issue personally affect you to such a degree that you feel you need to complain about it in a public video?

I have no problem with someone voicing their opinions, but to me this was too unethical to be acceptable. In my eyes, this is bullying.


In her rant, Nicole Arbour mentions having to painfully endure sitting next to “Jabba the Son”, and literally pushing his fat away from her.

Well, that boy wrote a response:

“You made accusations that fat people are stupid and what I got out of it was ‘you should love yourself unless you are fat.'”

“I have been made fun of for my weight ever since I can remember. I am an easy target. Everyone has problems. Mine are just more visible.”

“See, people always told me I was lazy. All I had to do was eat less and move more. That was all..That is the simple answer for anyone who has no idea what being obese is. That would be telling an alcoholic to stop drinking…”

“The truth is you humiliated me by yelling and screaming about my weight. You made a mockery of a little boy for being different than you. You never had to ‘push my fat’ with your hands, but you did make a spectacle of my weight…But you wanted to make me feel that way. You wanted to make me feel ashamed for my weight.

Of course there is no such thing as ‘fat-shaming’ in your world.

As you told me that day…’Make better choices.’

You did not even know that on that day I hit my 10 pounds lost mark that day on the plane.”

As comedian and YouTuber, Grace Helbig, said:

“It’s really pretentious and presumptuous to assume that you have the authority to tell other people what they’re doing wrong so definitively…We all have a responsibility to ourselves and to the people that we affect to affect them in the best way possible.”

Leave a Reply

