Thought Bubble: Forgiveness

image-2

Sometimes it feels like it’s easier to start over, than to confront your past.

This is the way I felt today when reflecting on my life. I am stubborn. There, I admit that I can hold grudges for too long. And, in the past it has led me to lose some valuable friendships.

Holding this resentment won’t make you or the other person any better off. Think about it rationally.

Why are you upset?
Is it worth it to hold a grudge if I’m only hurting the other person?
Is this something you’ll regret later?

The latter question is one I try to ask myself in every situation. In this case, it can make you think past any anger to see the conflict clearly for what it is.

In life, I’ve found one of the best ways to live a happier, more fulfilled life is forgiveness.

To surround yourself with many supportive and wonderful people, you must be able to reciprocate the kindness they’ve given you.

Try to do this instead of holding up to these high expectations and acknowledge that they are flawed and human as well. If this person is someone you truly care about, and vice versa, than forgiving their little mistakes will help make both of you more content.

Life is like sewing. And for those of you scratching your heads, let me explain. Each stitch you make is like each step you take in life. And sometimes, you’ll have some knotted stitches, maybe without realizing. But once you do notice them, everything you’ve done past it has been for naught. All of what you’ve built on top must be unraveled to get to the point where the mistake started.

But some might just keep trying to move forward regardless, not looking back at the regrets. I’ve been guilty of this. But all you’re doing is ignoring something that still exists, behind each new step you take. Don’t let someone else’s mistake be the catalyst for making a mistake yourself.

So today I challenge you to forgive someone who’s wronged you. You don’t necessarily need to give them your trust, but no longer treat them with animosity and resentment.

Leave a Reply

