Don’t Mind Me: The Morality of Mind Reading

Full Disclosure

A mad scientist friend offers you a chip that would allow you to know what the people you’re talking to are thinking. The catch: you can’t turn it off. Do you accept the chip?


Why I Might

This would be the key to unlocking the mystery of the actual sense of us. Up to now, we have never felt or experienced what it’s like to be in someone else’s consciousness. We have never truly known if they process their surroundings the way we, individually, do.

I saw an interesting video related to this topic. It played around with the idea that we visually might see colors differently. For, we have no way of knowing or truly expressing what color is. You can say that it’s bright or cool, but can you specifically and accurately render an image in another person’s mind who has never even seen color?

And this would take the guesswork out of what someone truly thinks of you. I think that people lie to others at a much higher frequency than we presume.

If I experienced others’ thought, would I be aware that it belonged to another, or would I feel as if it were my own? Would it be as if I was watching it as a spectator, or feel as if I was the actual person?

Would I become wiser than what is humanly possible? With all this new knowledge and perspective, I would be able to utilize the combined memories of many to achieve a paragon of intelligence. In order for you to gain new knowledge, you must first have pre-existing knowledge of how to enhance your mental capacity.


Why I Might Not

All of these capabilities might not necessarily be beneficial. Would I be considered a separate species, or more evolved counterpart? If only one human has this advantageous trait in the population, this can only mean trouble.

Would this knowledge gained ultimately destroy me as it could go beyond the limits of what human existence can stand?


My Ultimatum

I would deny this offer. As tempting as it may seem, there are too many unforseen risk factors.


What would you decide?

Leave a Reply

